One of my favorite poems about the great Mother

WHAT I DID ON A RAINY DAY
by May Swenson

Breathed the fog from the valley
Inhaled its ether fumes
With whittling eyes peeled the hills
to their own blue and bone
Swallowed piercing pellets of rain
caught cloudsful in one colorless cup
Exhaling stung the earth with sunlight
struck leaf and bristle to green fire
Turned tree trunks to gleaming pillars
and twigs to golden nails
With one breath taken into the coils
of my blood and given again when vibrant
I showed who’s god around here

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    thefirminc said,

    Its a beautiful poem with a lovely flow and message.

  2. 3

    sandy price said,

    I’m really glad I stumbled upon your poem. I love poetry. And I do like your blog. You are taking on great subject matter!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

